Board of Trustees

  • The Rev. Gary Demarest (vice-president)
    Retired Presbyterian Pastor; Pasadena
  • Ernest Dow
    Elder, Pasadena Presbyterian Church, CPA, Glendale
  • The Rev. Dr. Tom Erickson (president)
    Retired Presbyterian Pastor, Pasadena
  • Gerald Herter (Treasurer)
    Elder, Tustin Presbyterian Church, Retired CPA; Tustin
  • Vartkes “Kass” Kassouni
  • Jean Owen
    Elder, Pasadena Presbyterian Church; Pasadena
  • The Rev. Grace Park
    Associate Pastor, Pacific Palisades Presbyterian Church; Bell Canyon
  • The Rev. Dr. Ivan Pitts
    Pastor, 2nd Baptist Church, Santa Ana
  • John Toay
  • The Rev. Dr. David Tomlinson
    former Presbyterian Synod Exec. & retired Seminary V.P. Pasadena
  • Jane Atkins Vásquez (secretary)
    Presbyterian: Author, Church History Professor, Pasadena

In addition to its Board of Trustees, The New Theological Seminary of the West has an expanded “advisory group” of leaders titled “Friends of the Seminary,” a fellowship of supporters that provide non-binding strategic advice to the President and Board of Trustees in support of the Seminary’s mission.

  • George Abdo
    Former seminary trustee and member of the NTSWest Development Committee
  • Lynn Cheyney
    Previous NTSWest trustee, Pastor, Westwood Presbyterian Church
  • Y.S. (John) Kim
    Previous NTSWest trustee, elder, Pasadena Presbyterian Church
  • Ross Purdy
    Pastor, First Presbyterian church of Burbank
  • Steve Raney
    Pastor, Tustin Presbyterian Church
  • Wanda Sawyers
    Previous NTSWest trustee, elder, Village Presbyterian church, Pasadena
  • Dean Thompson
    Former pastor, Pasadena Presbyterian church and former president, Louisville Theological Seminary
  • Ron White
    Previous NTSWest Trustee, seminary dean and noted author